The first school was founded in 1790. It was a gift to the Island from Jean Le Mesurier, who also invested a sum of money to pay for the running expenses. The school continued in its original buildings until the island was evacuated in 1940 which remained under occupation for 5 years.
After the war, the Islanders returned and it was decided by the States of Alderney and the States of Guernsey to preserve St Anne’s as an ‘all-age’ school catering for children from 4-16. The school was re-established in its original building which now houses the Island Museum.
In 1968 the new school was built and the children moved into the school in 1969. The school had become the only Island school after an agreement was made with the Roman Catholic Church whereby Catholic Instruction is taught to all Catholics. In return the Roman Catholic community agreed not to establish a separate school.
The school retains its unique status as an all-age school in full Local Authority Control. It is now administered by the States of Guernsey Education Council. The buildings, which enjoy superb views across Braye beach and Fort Albert, have been considerably extended and modernised over the past 30 years to cater for the growing demands of educating the Island’s children.